Sharon Stephens Prize


The next competition is in 2019



The Sharon Stephens Prize is awarded bi-annually for a junior scholar’s first book. The prize goes to a work that speaks to contemporary social issues with relevance beyond the discipline and beyond the academy.


Ethnographies and critical works in contemporary theory–single-authored or multi-authored but not edited collections–are eligible. The book should be the first monograph by a junior scholar, have been published in the last two years (copyright of 2017 or later), and may not have been previously submitted for this prize.


The jury for the prize is chaired by an AES councilor, who selects two or three other scholars as jury members.


Letters of nominations must come from scholars; self-nominations and nominations from presses are not invited.


Announcements regarding the deadlines and other specifics will be posted on this website, as well as through the Anthropology News “AES Section News” column and other e-mail based publicity.


Please send nominating letter, link to ebook version, and hard copy of the book by the deadline (TBA) to each of the Sharon Stephens Prize committee members (TBA).