The Senior Book Prize is awarded biennially for a book by a senior scholar. The prize goes to a work that speaks to contemporary social issues with relevance beyond the discipline and beyond the academy:


Ethnographies and critical works in contemporary theory–single-authored or multi-authored but not edited collections–are eligible. The book should have been published in 2018 or 2019, and may not have been previously submitted for this prize.


The jury for the prize is chaired by an AES councilor, who selects two or three other scholars as jury members.


Letters of nomination must come from scholars; self-nominations are not invited.


Criteria may include: originality, rigor, and maturity of research; an innovative approach to ethnography; theoretical sophistication and depth; thematic prescience; and an enduring contribution to Anthropology and beyond.


Announcements regarding the deadlines and other specifics will be posted on this website, as well as through the Anthropology News “AES Section News” column and other e-mail and social media-based publicity.


Please send (1) a nomination letter; (2) a hard copy of the book; and (3) either a PDF or e-book to each of the AES Senior Prize judges by the May 15 deadline, to the addresses below. Books and letters of nomination must be received by the deadline for full consideration.

Jury Members:


Christopher Krupa (Chair)
Department of Anthropology
University of Toronto
19 Russell Street
Toronto, ON
M5S 2S2

Sharika Thiranagama
Department of Anthropology
Stanford University
450 Jane Stanford Way, Building 50
Stanford, CA

Rihan Yeh
Department of Anthropology
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Dr. MC 0532
La Jolla, CA