AES regularly holds juried competitions for three awards, all of which recognize outstanding work in the field.

Sharon Stephens Prize

The 2017 competition is now open.

To be eligible, the book should be the first monograph by a junior scholar, have been published in the last two years (copyright of 2015 or later), and may not have been previously submitted for this prize.

Please send nominating letter and copy of the book by May 15, 2017 to each of the Sharon Stephens Prize committee members — check back here in late March 2017 for the names and addresses of the committee members.

May 15, 2017. The Sharon Stephens Prize will be awarded at the AES business meeting at the 2017 AAA annual meeting in Washington D.C.

Read more Browse awardees

Senior Book Prize

The Senior Book Prize is awarded bi-annually for a book by a senior scholar. The prize goes to a work that speaks to contemporary social issues with relevance beyond the discipline and beyond the academy.

The next competition is in 2018

Read more Browse awardees

Elsie Clews Parsons Prize

The AES Board invites individuals who are students in a graduate degree-granting program (including M.A. and Ph.D.) to submit stand-alone papers demonstrating outstanding ethnography for consideration for the Elsie Clews Parsons Prize.

Deadline January 22, 2017

Read more Browse awardees