The Sharon Stephens Prize Announcement

Feb 04, 2021

The Sharon Stephens Prize is awarded biennially for a junior scholar’s first book. The prize goes to a work that speaks to contemporary social issues with relevance beyond the discipline and beyond the academy.

Ethnographies and critical works in contemporary theory – single-authored or multi-authored but not edited collections – are eligible. The book should be a first monograph by a junior scholar, have been published in the last two years (copyright of 2019 or 2020), and may not have been previously submitted for this prize.

The jury for the prize is chaired by an AES councilor, with two or three other scholars as jury members.

Letters of nomination must come from scholars; self-nominations and nominations from presses are not invited.

Announcements regarding the deadlines and other specifics will be posted on this website, as well as through the Anthropology News “AES Section News” column and other email based publicity.

Please send (1) nomination letter; (2) a hard copy of the book; and (3) either a PDF or e-book to each of the Sharon Stephens Prize jury members by the June 1st, 2021 deadline, to the addresses below. Books and letters of nomination must be received by the deadline for full consideration.

Jury Members:

Naveeda Khan (Chair)
Department of Anthropology
Johns Hopkins University
213 Chancery Road
Baltimore, MD 21218

Elizabeth Ferry
Department of Anthropology MS 06
Brandeis University
415 South Street
Waltham, MA 02454

Sameena Mulla
Social and Cultural Sciences
Marquette University
2338 E. Oklahoma Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53207

Hoon Song
Department of Anthropology
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
4346 Blaisdell Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55409